POLITICAL observations & opinions

David Brooks: As an ambitious executive, it’s important that you believe that you will deserve credit for everything you achieve. As a human being, it’s important for you to know that’s nonsense.

Posted by Lew Weinstein on August 4, 2012

Confused in Columbus writes to David Brooks … Over the past few years, I’ve built a successful business. I’ve worked hard, and I’m proud of what I’ve done. But now President Obama tells me that social and political forces helped build that. How much of my success is me, and how much of my success comes from forces outside of me?

David Brooks answers … as maturity develops and the perspectives widen, the smaller the power of the individual appears, and the greater the power of those forces flowing through the individual … you are right to preserve your pride in your accomplishments. Great companies, charities and nations were built by groups of individuals who each vastly overestimated their own autonomy. As an ambitious executive, it’s important that you believe that you will deserve credit for everything you achieve. As a human being, it’s important for you to know that’s nonsense.

read the entire column at … http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/03/opinion/brooks-the-credit-illusion.html?pagewanted=print

Leave a Reply

 
