POLITICAL observations & opinions

* PGA urged to boycott Scotland; no American should play golf in Scotland until there is a full apology and a termination of the Justice Minister

Posted by Lew Weinstein on August 25, 2009

scotland NO

I have sent the following email to the PGA …

I would like to urge the PGA to issue a statement encouraging all U.S. golfers, professional and amateur, to boycott Scotland, until and unless there is a full apology and a termination of the Justice Minister responsible for the despicable release of the Lockerbie bomber.

In addition, I urge all U.S. golfers to send similar messages, and to indicate to Scotland’s sponsers of golf events and clubs that they will not be coming to Scotland to play golf.

3 Responses to “* PGA urged to boycott Scotland; no American should play golf in Scotland until there is a full apology and a termination of the Justice Minister”

  1. anonymous scientist said

    Hi Lew: As a Scot myself, let me throw in my 2 cents here. I left Scotland around 25 years ago. I think the actions of the so-called justice minister Kenny whatever-his-name-is are shameful and embarrassing for Scotland. But not too surprising. I’m torn over thinking this was a deal done with the Libyans (Gordon Brown is a canny Scot himself, but lacks the charisma of Tony Blair), or some hopelessly naive decision made by the Scots themselves. I tend to believe that the whole trial and imprisonment of the Libyan was a sham. I think there are Iranian and/or Syrian fingerprints on the Lockerbie bombing. These details may have been about to come out in a re-trial, or so I’ve heard. I drove by the Lockerbie site 3 days after it happened, on my way from Europe back to Scotland. It was horrifying to think about these poor innocent souls on the plane and on the ground.
    Whilst I think sending a message to Scotland about a golf boycott is a good message to deliver to demonstrate that these insane decisions have consequences, I don’t think actually holding malice against the Scots is fair or just. Visiting Scotland is way too much fun 🙂 And we do make damn fine whisky 🙂

  2. Peter Gault said

    If you are going to boycott all things Scottish why not just boycott golf, invented Scotland 1600’s?

    • Lew Weinstein said

      Because that would be self-defeating. Actually, I like Scotland very much, but what they did was simply awful and there should be some consequences to such behavior.

Leave a Reply

 
